Wk1-Art Experience-Plaster Casting

This weeks activity was the plaster caster! I went to Seal Beach today to do the activity, and it was an extremely nice day out! Before going to Seal Beach I stopped by Lowe’s to pick up the plaster and a stir stick, luckily I was able to find all the other supplies around my house. I found a nice spot on the sand and dug the hole for my hand. The first time I tried doing it, it did not turn out correctly because the plaster mix I used was to watery. So the second time I made sure to make the mixture more thick. While waiting for the mixture to dry in the hole I was able to enjoy the nice day on the beach, the water was surprisingly not too cold either! After about 30 minutes I dug up my mold and this is what it turned out to look like. Not as great as I expected but still very cool! I shared the rest of the plaster mixture I had with a little kid who was very interested in what I was doing, so he got to make a cast of his foot too! Overall a fun experience.

Leave a Reply

