Wk 6-Artist Conversation-Non Fiction Story

fullsizerender

Awesome Clay Sculpture
Ariel Maldonado
Ceramics- Fired Clay
12″ x 13″
2017
CSULB School of Art, Gatov Gallery East

Immediately when I entered Maldonado’s gallery I was brought back to my child hood. And the first thing my eyes were drawn to were these little sculptures that were displayed among the room. At first I didn’t know what to think of them but after awhile it sparked my memory, doctor’s office. These were like the wooden toys that were in almost every  doctors or dental offices for kids to play with. Then it brought me back to long ago…

When I was younger I would hate the doctors office, it was one of my most dreaded places to go. Till this day I am not sure why because now I don’t mind going and I know that they are here to help me but back then I hated it. Whenever I went to the doctors I would cry and have a fit because I hated being there that much. And the only thing that made it somewhat bearable were the toys that I got to play with before going into the room. Sometimes the nurses would even let me bring a toy back to the room to play with just to clam me down.

So, I would just like to say Ariel’s gallery was filled with memories for me, I spent awhile in there just looking around playing with the exihibts. Great gallery!

Leave a Reply

