Week 12- Art Activity- Ethnograhy (Pre Electric Cultures)

For this activity, I though the best place to do this would be at the beach. After all when the sun goes down there is no electricty, just you, the ocean, and stars. I didn’t do this alone, I had a group of friends join me. We were planning to spend the afternoon at the beach anyways so I asked if we can stay late in the night to experience life without electricity. We didnt exatly sleep there until the morning but we did stay there until about 2 a.m. When the sun went down we headed to the lifeguard tower with a bunch of blankets, zero electricity.

At first I thought this experience would be kind of boring, but I knew it would be relaxing at the same time because I was at the beach. Plus adding my friends to it made it more enjoyable. It was pretty easy. We actually had a lot to talk about because we haven’t seen eachother in awhile! We enjoyed eachothers company while eating some snacks and staring at the stars, listening to the sound of the crashing waves. Without electricty you really learn to pay attention to other factors of nature, like sounds and smells which were very apparent at the beach.

I think people who didn’t have electricity before found more time to get to know eachother and be able to have nice deep conversations. They were also probably able to focus on eachother more because they weren’t being distracted by their phones or social media.

My ideal level of life activity and connectivity would be to have the perfect amoudt of social media and interaction with others. By this I mean, have just enough where it can be something I have but not something I need to have 24/7.

IMG_4615

Leave a Reply

